Local Storage
In local storage, data from websites is saved in the browser on the device and not transmitted to a server. The data persists even when closing the tab or browser. The Arc-Calc uses this storage to keep all entered data such as favourites, your name or changed GB abbreviations. There are modes and add-ons that may delete these data or block saving.
-
The Arc-Calc loses user-entered data – possible causes
- Incognito Mode or Private Window
- There is usually no error message in there, but all data is deleted after closing.
- Add-ons
- There are add-ons, e.g. for cleaning the cache (buffer memory), that delete all saved data after exiting.
- It may be necessary to set the address of the Arc-Calc on the exception list (whitelist) of the add-on to prevent this.
-
Red dot in the title
- This appears when the browser blocks the use of local storage.
- This can be due to an increased security setting.
-
Allowing the Use of Local Storage
- In the browser settings, look for the category Privacy / Security.
- Check whether a too-high security level has been set by accident or add an exception for the Arc-Calc.
- In some browsers this is blocked together with cookies.
You can find further solutions to localStorage problems with a quick web search – e.g. for "fix localStorage error".
If the problem cannot be resolved, contact me!